OFFIS e.V.

OFFIS e.V.

OFFIS, founded in 1991, is an affiliated institute of the University of Oldenburg and one of the top 5% of research institutes in Germany according to the DFG ranking. Approximately 25 professors from computer science and computer-related subjects, together with about 250 employees, conduct application-oriented IT research and development in the application domains of transportation, energy, health and manufacturing.

The transportation division involved in the project comprises about 65 scientific employees and has been developing methods, tools and processes for the design and analysis of safety-critical transportation systems for more than 20 years. This includes in particular safety and security approaches for the development of assistance systems and highly automated/autonomous functions in the automotive, aviation and maritime sectors.

Relevant focal points of the work include increasing the robustness in the open world and dealing with uncertainties of AI components, hardware requirements of AI models under boundary conditions for automotive suitability (challenges of embedded systems), reconstruction of real road scenarios to increase the representativeness of synthetic data, generation of synthetic data, especially with regard to corner cases, and their use for training and evaluating AI components.

OFFIS e.V.

OFFIS e.V.

OFFIS ist ein 1991 gegründetes An-Institut der Universität Oldenburg und gehört zu den Top-5% der Forschungsinstitute in Deutschland gemäß des Rankings der DFG. Etwa 25 Professoren aus der Informatik und aus Informatik-nahen Fächern betreiben zusammen mit ca. 250 Mitarbeitern anwendungsorientierte IT-Forschung und Entwicklung in den Anwendungsdomänen Verkehr, Energie, Gesundheit und Produktion.

Der im Projekt involvierte Bereich Verkehr beschäftigt etwa 65 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter und entwickelt seit mehr als 20 Jahren Methoden, Werkzeuge und Prozesse für den Entwurf und die Analyse von sicherheitskritischen Verkehrssystemen. Dies umfasst insbesondere Safety und Security Ansätze für die Entwicklung von Assistenzsystemen und hochautomatisierten/autonomen Funktionen in den Bereichen Automotive, Luftfahrt und Maritim.

Relevante Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind u. a. die Steigerung der Robustheit in der Open World sowie die Behandlung von Unsicherheiten von KI-Komponenten, Hardwareanforderungen von KI-Modellen unter Randbedingungen für die Automotive Tauglichkeit (Herausforderungen Embedded Systems), Rekonstruktion realer Straßenszenerien zur Steigerung der Representativität synthetischer Daten, Generierung von synthetischen Daten insbesondere in Bezug auf Corner Cases sowie deren Nutzung zum Trainieren und Evaluieren von KI-Komponenten.